facebook instagram linkedin twitter you tube

Governor Ron DeSantis announced the appointment of Victoria Drago, Christopher Brooks, Jennifer Wasylyna, Gerald Padgett, Robin Miller and Sandra Atkinson to the Board of Massage Therapy.

With the appointment of Dotti Groover-Skipper earlier this year and pending confirmation by the Florida Senate of these appointments, the Florida Board of Massage Therapy will have a full board going into 2022.

The FSMTA Legislative team has been promoting and educating lawmakers of the need to have a full board. “Our board has been under-served for years and we are glad to see this come to fruition.”

The Florida Board of Massage Therapy is made up of 7 members. Five members of the board must be licensed massage therapists and must have been engaged in the practice of massage for not less than 5 consecutive years prior to the date of appointment to the board. Two members of the board must be laypersons. Each board member must be a high school graduate or must have received a graduate equivalency diploma. Each board member must be a citizen of the United States and a resident of this state for not less than 5 years.

The Board meets quarterly, generally during the months of January, April, July, and October. The full board meetings include disciplinary cases, application review, liaison reports, rule discussions and other necessary Board actions.

LMT’s that attend a FL BOMT meeting (and sign in) receive 2 CEs Ethics and 2 CEs FL Laws & Rules. FSMTA representatives attend every FL BOMT meeting. Please join us at the January 27 – January 28, 2022 General Business Meeting (location to be determined).

For more information about the Florida Board of Massage Therapy, visit https://floridasmassagetherapy.gov/

If you have any questions please feel free to contact Ian McIntosh [email protected]

Ian McIntosh, LMT
FSMTA Board Member
FSA Regulatory Committee
[email protected]